Shared content is any information that applies to more than one product in your catalog. It appears as extra collapsed sections on product pages in your eCom (E-Series) storefront. You can use shared content to save time on online catalog setup and highlight key purchase details for customers:
- Your return and refund policy;
- Care instructions or fabric descriptions;
- Shipping, delivery, or payment rules;
- Any other repetitive data that is the same across a group of products.
You can add shared content to select product categories or to all items in your online store.
Creating shared content sections for your eCom store
You can create shared content sections for your eCom store and assign them to select product categories or to all products in your online catalog. A content section may include formatted text or any other information, like images or videos, that you add using the built-in text editor.
You can design shared content completely from scratch or use customizable templates. One product can have as many shared content sections assigned to it as you need.
To create a shared content section for a product category:
- Navigate to Online > Overview > Go to eCom to open the eCom admin.
- From your eCom admin, go to Settings > General > Cart & Checkout.
- Scroll down to the Shared product content block, then click Add Shared Content.
-
On the opened page, click + Create Shared Content.
-
Select a template that suits your content best (for example, “Return policy”) or go for a completely custom option.
If you have set up legal pages in your store, the Return policy and Shipping & payment info templates will be prefilled with your current legal page content.
- Edit the shared content to suit your needs, then click Next Step.
- Select a product category to attach this shared content section to, then click Apply. One section can belong to several categories or to all products in your store.
- Click Create and Display to publish the shared product content section, or click Create Without Display to finish creating the section without making it available to customers on product pages. You can turn the shared content section on or off later.
That’s it! You’ve created a shared product content section and assigned it to a product category. If the section is currently enabled, it will appear on product pages for all items in the category, right below the description.
Both the product description and the shared content section will be displayed in the collapsed view.
To add more shared product content sections to your store, go to Settings > General > Cart & Checkout > Manage Shared Content or to Catalog > Shared Product Content.
Editing shared product content sections
After you add a shared product content section to your eCom store, you can edit it. For example, if you later want to provide more detailed instructions on how to make payments, or attach the return policy to another store category.
When you update the content, the changes apply to all the products this section is assigned to.
To edit a shared product content section:
- Navigate to Online > Overview > Go to eCom to open the eCom admin.
- From your eCom admin, go to Catalog > Shared Product Content. On the page, you will see a list of shared product content sections that you’ve created.
-
Click Actions > Edit for the content section that you want to adjust.
- Edit the section name and content and/or assign it to another store category.
- Click Save.
Turning shared product content sections on or off
You can turn shared product content sections on or off in your eCom store. If you turn off a shared content section, it is no longer displayed on product pages. You can enable the section when you need it.
To manage shared product content sections:
- Navigate to Online > Overview > Go to eCom to open the eCom admin.
- From your eCom admin, go to Catalog > Shared Product Content. On the page, you will see a list of shared product content sections that you’ve created.
-
Switch the toggle next to a content section:
Sorting shared content sections on the product page
If you have several shared content sections in your eCom store, you can change the order in which they appear on product pages. For example, when you want shipping and payment info to go before the return policy.
To sort shared content sections on the product page:
- Navigate to Online > Overview > Go to eCom to open the eCom admin.
- From your eCom admin, go to Catalog > Shared Product Content. On the page, you will see a list of shared product content sections that you’ve created.
- Scroll down to Display settings and click Edit Sorting.
Optionally, you can click Actions > Sort for any shared content section. -
Drag and drop shared content sections to sort them.
- Save the changes.
That’s it. The updated sort order will be applied to all shared content sections in your storefront.
Based on the general sort order you set, product pages will only show the currently enabled sections assigned to that product’s category.
Deleting shared product content sections
You can permanently delete a shared product content section from your eCom store if you no longer need it.
To delete a shared product content section:
- Navigate to Online > Overview > Go to eCom to open the eCom admin.
- From your eCom admin, go to Catalog > Shared Product Content. On the page, you will see a list of shared product content sections that you’ve created.
- Click Actions > Delete, then confirm deletion.