If you experience issues on the Sell screen in Retail POS, you may need to reset your data. Resetting your data may help if:
- There's a negative balance on your Sell screen after processing a return
- Issues arise when adding or editing products on your Sell screen
- You can't change taxes on your Sell screen
- You can't add product details when making a sale
- Recently added or edited products aren't showing up correctly on your Sell screen
Resetting local data to resync the Sell screen
Resetting your data deletes any currently open sales and completed sales not yet saved to Lightspeed servers. It also deletes the copy of your web register data stored in your browser. This will later be synced with the latest version.
Resetting data on a computer
To reset your local data on Retail POS:
- In Retail POS, navigate to Sell > Status.
-
On the Status page, click Reset data.
-
Retail POS will display a confirmation pop-up. After reviewing the information, click Reset data.
Resetting your data clears any open sales on your Sell screen. Check your sales history to make sure your most recent sales have been saved.
-
You will be brought to the Select Register screen. Choose your register to navigate back to the Sell screen.
Resetting data on an iPad
On an iPad, you reset your data by resyncing your store. To resync your store on an iPad:
- In your Retail (X) app, tap the top-left corner of the screen to open the side menu.
-
Tap and hold the Online status until the Support pop-up appears.
-
Tap Resync data.
Your Retail POS data will be resynced.
Clearing browser history
If you've reset your data on a computer and resynced your data on an iPad but are still having issues, you may need to clear your Internet browser's cache.
This may sign you out of any other websites where you're currently logged in. Some websites may initially take longer to load, as their images are no longer stored locally.
Clearing browser history on a computer
Here is how to clear this information on Google Chrome. Depending on the Internet browser you're using, steps to clear your history and cache will vary slightly.
Clearing Safari history on an iPad
To reset history in the Safari app:
- Navigate to the Settings app > Apps.
-
Tap Safari.
-
In the History and Website Data section, tap Clear History and Website Data.
-
In the pop-up, make sure that All history is selected.
- Tap Clear History.
Your Safari history will be cleared.
Troubleshooting data issues on an iPad
- Retry the errored sales.
- Tap the top-left corner of the screen to open the side menu.
- Tap Online.
- Under Sales, tap Retry errored.
- Long-tap the Online status until the Support pop-up appears.
- Tap Resync data.
- If you've already checked your devices' Internet connections and your changes still aren't syncing, force a data sync.
- On your iPad, tap the top-left corner of the screen to open the side menu.
- Tap Online.
- Tap Sync all data.
- Clear your iPad Safari cache.
- On your computer, clear your browser history.
- Reset your data.
- If your product data isn't updating, force a data sync and reinstall the app.
- On your iPad, tap the top-left corner of the screen to open the side menu.
- Tap Online.
- Tap Sync all data.
- Clear your iPad Safari cache.
-
On your iPad's Home screen, long-tap the Retail (X) app icon.
- Tap Options.
- Tap Remove App.
- Tap Delete App.
-
In the pop-up, tap Delete.
- Redownload the app from the App Store.
- If your Retail (X) app is frozen, you'll need to force it to refresh.
-
Newer iPad models: Swipe up from the bottom edge of the iPad and pause in the center of the screen.
Older iPad models: Double-press the Home button.
-
Drag the app preview image up to the top of the screen until it vanishes.
- Reopen the app.
-