Hi. How can we help?

Formatting a CSV file in Excel

When working with a CSV file in Excel, you may need to apply special formatting to the file for it to import seamlessly into Retail POS.

Opening your CSV file in Excel

If you're using a version of Excel that is newer than 2016, you must first enable the legacy Text Import Wizard:

  1. Open a new workbook in Excel.
  2. Click File > Options.
  3. Click the Data tab.
  4. In the Show legacy data import wizards section, check the From Text (Legacy) box.

    Options window with Data tab displayed. Under Show legacy data import wizards, From Text (Legacy) is checked.

  5. Click OK.

You can now proceed with importing your CSV file into Excel.

  1. Open a new workbook in Excel.
  2. From the top header menu, select Data.

    Excel top navigation with the Data tab selected. Get Data is clicked, showing dropdown menu including Legacy Wizards option and From Text (Legacy) selection.

  3. Click Get Data > Legacy Wizards.
  4. Select From Text (Legacy).

    Options window with Data tab highlighted. Under Show legacy data import wizards, From Text (Legacy) is checked.

  5. Select your CSV file from your computer and click Import.

    Import Text File window displaying selected import file, with options to Import or Cancel.

  6. Select Delimited and click Next.

    Text Import Wizard window with Delimited option selected.

  7. Under Delimeters, select Tab and Comma.

    Text Import Wizard window with list of Delimeters, where Tab and Comma boxes are selected.

    If you're using the European version of Excel, select Tab and Other and enter a semicolon (;) in the Other field instead.Text Import Wizard window with list of Delimeters, where Tab and Other are selected and a semicolon entered in the Other field.

  8. Click Next.
  9. Select each of the columns listed below one at a time and click Text under Column data format. To confirm the Text data format was applied, Text will appear above the column headers. This step prevents the series of numbers in the columns from being converted to scientific format (for example: 21+E):
    • UPC
    • EAN
    • Custom SKU
    • Manufacturer SKU
    • System ID (if updating existing items)
    • Any other columns that contain a series of numbers
  10. Click Finish.
  11. Click OK.

    Import Data window highlighting the put the data in Existing worksheet selected and displaying the New worksheet option.

Now that you've successfully opened your CSV file in Excel, save it as an XLSX.

Saving your CSV file as XLSX in Excel

  1. Click File > Save As.

    Save As page displayed.

  2. Give your file a meaningful file name, including the date, for your records.
  3. From the File Format, select Excel Workbook (.xlsx).
  4. Click Save.

You can now update your XLSX file and proceed with importing.

Formatting a CSV file in Excel

  1. Open the CSV file in Excel.
  2. Select the first column.

    First column selected in Excel.

  3. Click to convert Text to Columns.

    Convert Text to Columns button highlighted.

  4. Select Delimited.

    Delimited option selected.

  5. Click Next.
  6. Select Comma or Other and type a comma character.

    Comma and Other checkboxes highlighted.

  7. Click Finish.

Fixing truncated numbers or scientific notation in Excel

Truncated numbers can occur when using Excel to edit CSV files if your organization uses a SKU format with long digit numbers or numbers with a leading 0.

Truncated numbers in Excel.

When you export your Retail POS products to a CSV and open the file in Excel, it may treat the SKU column as a scientific number field and remove the leading zero and truncate the SKU. When you re-import the file, Retail POS may treat this as a new SKU code and add a duplicate or incorrect product.

Truncated SKU column highlighted.

To manage this, you can either open the file in Google Sheets, or follow the steps below to fix truncated SKU codes in Excel:

  1. Export your product list as a CSV and open the file in Excel.
  2. Select the SKU column you need to fix.
  3. Click Format > Format Cells.

    Format cells option highlighted.

  4. In the Number section, navigate to Category: and from the list select Number.
  5. Set the Decimal places to 0.

    Format category number with 0 entered in the decimal places.

  6. Click OK.

The SKU code in Excel should now be in the correct format.

What's next?

Importing products in bulk

Use a spreadsheet to upload inventory in bulk.

Learn more

Exporting your product list from Retail POS

Export and download your store's product list.

Learn more

Was this article helpful?