If you want to permanently cancel your Retail POS account, follow the steps in the sections below. To pause your account for seasonal or other temporary circumstances where you will continue selling at a later date, refer to Pausing your Retail POS account (on-ice).
Before canceling your Retail POS account
Once you cancel your account, all of your data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
To save your data and avoid additional subscriptions charges after canceling, first export your data and cancel any third-party app subscriptions billed through your Retail POS account.
Exporting data
- Export sales data from Sell > Sales history.
- Export your product list from the Products page.
- Export your customer list from the Customers page.
- Export register closures from Reporting > Register closures.
- Export sales reports under Reporting > Sales reports on the sidebar.
- Export tax reports under Reporting > Tax reports on the sidebar.
- Export any additional reports you might need like gift card and store credit reports in Reporting.
If you need to export other data, contact Retail Support for assistance.
If you have a Xero account, you'll also need to make sure register closures, on account sales, and stock orders (if applicable) are successfully posted to Xero before canceling your account.
Canceling third-party app subscriptions
Any third-party app subscription billed through your Retail POS account must be canceled prior to canceling your Retail POS account. If not, the third-party app subscription will continue to be billed. Learn more in Managing third-party app subscriptions in Retail POS (X-Series).
Canceling your Retail POS account
Pursuant to the Lightspeed Service Agreement, all plans require at least 30 days' notice prior to your next billing date. Cancellation before the end of the term may involve early terminations fees or specific exit procedures. Lightspeed does not offer pro-rated refunds if you decide to terminate an annual or monthly contract early.
To cancel your Retail POS account:
- Navigate to Setup > Billing.
-
Click Cancel my account.
-
On the form page, review the terms, then click the dropdown to select your cancellation reason.
- Click the arrow (Next) icon.
- Enter your contact information.
- Click the arrow (Next) icon.
- A member of the Retail Support team will reach out to finalize the request.
To remove any locally stored information, you can delete the Retail POS app from your devices. Deleting Retail POS apps from your devices will not cancel your plan. You must follow the steps above to cancel your plan before deleting the apps.